

# Physical Therapy Compact Commission Executive Board Meeting Minutes

October 26, 2017 Via WebEx

MEMBERS PRESENT: Troy Costales, Oregon, Chair

Kathy Arney, PT, North Carolina, Vice Chair

Jeanne DeKrey, PT, North Dakota, Secretary/Treasurer Harvey Aikman, PT, Texas, Executive Board At Large Connie Connie Clarkston, Missouri, Executive Board At Large (Joined at

3:22)

Melinda Richardson, PT, Arizona, Executive Board At Large Michael Sobowale, Tennessee, Executive Board At Large

Angela Shuman, APTA, Ex Officio

MEMBERS NOT PRESENT: David Relling, PT, FSBPT, Ex Officio

**LEGAL COUNSEL PRESENT:** Rick Masters

COMMISSION STAFF PRESENT: T.J. Cantwell, Compact Administrator

**FSBPT STAFF PRESENT:** William Hatherill, CEO

Mark Lane, PT, Vice President

Linda Michelsen, CFO

Jeffrey Rosa, Managing Director, Post Licensure Services

## Call to Order

The meeting was called to Order at 3:04 PM, ET.

## Approval of Minutes from October 3, 2017 Meeting

<u>Motion:</u> Harvey Aikman moved to approve the September 27, 2017, Executive Board meeting minutes as submitted. Melinda Richardson seconded the motion. The motion carried without objection. Connie Clarkson was absent.

#### Review and discussion of 2018 budget recommendation

Jeanne DeKrey and Linda Michelson shared the proposed 2018 budget.

<u>Motion:</u> Jeanne DeKrey moved that the Executive Board recommend the proposed 2018 operating budget, as modified, for approval by the PT Compact Commission at its November 5, 2017, meeting. Harvey Aikman seconded the motion. The motion carried without objection.

#### **Update on Status of Compact**

Angela Shuman provided an update on the states that are actively pursuing adoption of the PT Compact legislation. States include Pennsylvania, New Jersey, and Florida.

### <u>Discussion of Jurisdiction Status (Closed Session)</u>

<u>Motion:</u> Jeanne DeKrey moved that the Executive Board go into closed session pursuant to Section 7.E.2.a of the Compact Statute to discuss matters related to the non-compliance of a member state with its obligation under the Compact. Connie Clarkston seconded the motion. Rick Masters certified the reason for going into closed session. T.J. Cantwell called the roll.

Troy Costales	Yes
Kathy Arney	Yes
Jeanne DeKrey	Yes
Harvey Aikman	Yes
Connie Clarkston	Yes
Melinda Richardson	Yes
Michael Sobowale	Yes

The motion carried.

The Executive Board entered closed session at 3:33 PM, ET

The Executive Board returned to open session at 4:00 PM, ET

<u>Motion:</u> Harvey Aikman moved that Compact Legal Counsel, Rick Masters, be directed to respond to the letter from the Colorado First Attorney General Pamela Jackson. Michael Sobowale seconded the motion. The motion carried without objection. The letter is to include the following:

- Notice of receipt of letter
- Request for explicit clarification of the proposed remedies
- Notice of Colorado's ability to vote at the Full Commission meeting November 5, 2017, except for matters pertaining to their suspension
- Express the desire of the Commission to come to an eventual agreement and lifting of suspension

#### Planning for Next Meetings

T.J. Cantwell provided an update on planning for the November 5, 2017, annual Commission meeting.

#### Adjournment

<u>Motion:</u> Connie Clarkston moved to adjourn the October 26, 2017, meeting of the Executive Board. Michael Sobowale seconded the motion. The motion carried without objection.

